So That’s What That RSS Button Is For!


Courtesy of RBGStock.com

Courtesy of RBGStock.com

I’m far from a genius having superb internet savvy. Sure, I know how to Google something when necessary and even then, I sometimes have to click seven or eight links to figure out what it is I’m trying to figure out. So, no, I’m not going to win any awards for my internet intellect.

One thing I was really baffled by was how to keep up with all my favorite blogs. I know that it may be simple to a lot of people, but for me, it became quite a challenge. Sure Blogger and WordPress have the reader function where you can store urls of the blogs you want to follow but you can’t really organize anything. Plus, if you skip a day or more online, it’s painstaking to scroll back through everything that you want to catch up on.

So I went the route of subscribing to email notifications. I know what you’re thinking. She’s crazy as all get out. Yes…I am was! I was getting so many emails I was losing track and it was just as bad as trying to keep up using that damn WordPress Reader.

Well, not too long ago one of the bloggers I follow mentioned in a post that he keeps organized with Google Reader. Hmmm…why the heck didn’t I think of that? Oh yeah, because I’m not an internet goddess, that’s why.

Rss

RSS button.

After reading that post and much investigation, I finally knew what that RSS-feeds button was for. You see, I would see those buttons on sites but had no clue how the heck to use them. I even offered them on my own blog because I knew somewhere someone knew what they meant and how to work them.

Basically, you hit the RSS feed button and a number of reader offerings pop

Folders with unread number notifications.

Folders with unread number notifications.

up for which to add that site’s url feed. I’m not sure about the other readers, but I found on Google Reader that you can organize your favorite blogs within folders that you create. So I have a faves folder, a writer tips folder, a poetry folder, a met-via-SheWrites folder, etc. You get the drift. Folders that contain unread articles are in bold and have the number notification of unread posts next to it. When you open the folder, you can distinguish which sites in that folder have the unread posts. They are also in bold and have unread post number notifications next to them.

There are other features like marking a post as read to get rid of the unread number or the favorite star which allows you to bookmark a post that you can refer back to later. There are probably a boatload of other functions but I’m still learning the basics so, yeah, that’s all I’ve got so far. I’m sure if you Google it, you’ll get way more info. I’m just glad I can now organize the numerous blogs I follow.

A folder open with each individual url displayed.

A folder open with each individual url displayed.

Now, if someone could help me out with following comment replies from other blogs, I would be truly indebted. I’m still subscribing to those via email. Ugh! Although, there are few blogs that I follow that don’t even offer a way to follow comment replies which is really weird. How am I to know if they even responded to my comment or not? Maybe it’s an oversight on their part and they don’t even realize they’re missing the option? And, yes, some blogs offer RSS comment subscriptions, but when I tested one, it seemed as if I got ALL of that blog’s comment responses from ALL of their posts. I could be confused about it. Help!

How do you keep up with your favorite blogs? Email or RSS feeds? Did you know what RSS feeds were or was I the only one kept in the dark? How do you keep up with comment replies from another blog? Would love to hear how other readers work.

Categories: ~Random Madness~ | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 35 Comments

Post navigation

35 thoughts on “So That’s What That RSS Button Is For!

  1. I follow so many fantastic blogs and hate to lose track of any of them. I follow all the blogger posts on my dashboard and all the wordpress posts on my email. And then I drink my tea and savor all of them! (Like yours!)

  2. Hey Melissa–

    A quickie question for you. Do you ever do guest-posts and if so, would you consider doing one on my blog?

    Lemme know and we can discuss details if you’re interested.

    Julie

    On Mon, Feb 11, 2013 at 6:13 AM, A 5-Minute Piece of My Mind wrote:

    > ** > Melissa Kinnel (@TizMellyMel) posted: ” Courtesy of RBGStock.com I’m far > from a genius having superb internet savvy. Sure, I know how to Google > something when necessary and even then, I sometimes have to click seven or > ei”

  3. I use the RSS (which I’ve only recently figured out as well…) or the follow button. Bcause my blog is a blogger blog, that’s usually easier for me. Sometimes my RSS feeds disappear from my blog list and I get confused *sigh*. I love my google reader for organizing too. I’d like to revamp it, but it would take hours to re-sort my folders – too much work!

  4. This is brilliant! I forget that people don’t know what the RSS button is for. I used to have a big “subscribe to my blog” on the page, then I decided to just leave the button in a stack of the others. Time to change it back. I am sharing this post on Facebook. It’s such a good explanation.

    As for the comments, I haven’t a clue sorry.

  5. I thought they got rid of Google Reader. I used to get the feed on my Google Homepage, and then it disappeared. I knew it was coming because I heard an announcement beforehand. This must be a different version of it or something. Good to know!

  6. Yes! Glad you are using Google Reader now. It’s so much easier to keep blogs organized that way.

  7. You’re a genius as far as I’m concerned. I have no idea about RSS, but I’m going to see if my blog has it. Or figure out how to install it. Nice to meet you on Lynda Young’s blog today.

  8. Oh yeah, RSS feeds are the only way I have a snowball’s chance in Hell (it’s a cliche day) of keeping up with blogs I enjoy. Even better are the blogs that let you pick your subscription method. If any of you use any of the iDevices, my favorite RSS catcher is Feeddler RSS. Best way to peruse blog posts on the commute to and from work.

  9. I looove Google Reader. I’m so happy you discovered it! I’ve been using it for years now and I honestly don’t know how I’d keep up with all the blogs I follow without it. I also like reading blogs through an RSS app on my phone. 🙂

  10. I’ve been out of the blogging state of mind for about a year (*gasp*) but I’m coming back to it. One thing I miss, which went away during that time, is the followers rubric. Thanks for this article, which reminds me there are other options for organizing the blogs I love to read!

  11. The ones I realllly don’t want to miss, I follow by email. But (like you) I recently discovered I could make folders in Google Reader…when I have the time to finally do it. LOL But anyhow, with folders, Google Reader will be much more manageable. Great post! And thanks for visiting my blog. 🙂

  12. I found that little button confusing too. Funny thing was, I’d see it on some other blogs and wanted one too without understanding why it was relevant.

  13. I have a haphazard way of following the blogs I like, so I’m really not a good person to ask. I am, however, in the process of organizing my blog follows so I can stop jumping around like a jack rabbit. I may consider a more thorough investigation of Google Reader as an option.

  14. I subscribe to some. I ask for notifications from others. If I see that a blog has a history of getting hundreds of comments I don’t as for notifications otherwise my email inbox is just overwhelmed. Instead I use the RSS and when the next post is made, I go and check out the comments on the previous one. It means I don’t get instant back-and-forth, but that’s not really what I’m after.

    I do ‘follow’ a LOT of blogs, and am always excited to add another.

    • Steve, getting email notifications for comments really does clog up your email inbox. I have tried the tactic you mentioned in reference to waiting for the next post and then going back to the previous one to check for comment replies. I especially do this when the blog doesn’t offer email or RSS comment subscriptions.

  15. Hi, Melissa,
    Thanks for sharing. The major problem I have is taking time to organize blogs according to favourites/types/etc. One day…

  16. hehehe…i just learned something new…doh!

  17. There are so many awesome blogs out there and it is hard to keep track of them! I have yet to organize my list,unfortunately.
    Nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com

  18. So that’s what it’s for! 🙂

Please Leave a Piece of Your Mind...I Dare You!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

