Please Allow Me To Re-Introduce Myself


PAMTRM_Badge copyI’m participating in the Please Allow Me To Re-Introduce Myself blogfest today hosted by Stephen Tremp, Carolyn Brown, Mark Koopmans and Elise Fallson. Basically you share something about yourself, no matter the subject, with your viewing audience. So I get to bore apprise you of a detail that you may or may not already know about me. So sit back, grab your lattes and biscotti and try not to yawn.

One day when I was in the first grade, I wrote my thought of the day, as the class was often asked to do. We could even draw a picture to go along with our piece. As my teacher, Ms. Hutchinson, came around our desks checking out our work, she seemed to be really interested in my paper.

Sometime afterwards, Ms. Hutchinson, took me down to the office and as six-year-old, I was terrified. Since I was always an obedient child, I kept going over in my mind what I could have possibly done to warrant a trip to see the principal.

Anxiety turned to delight as the principal and my teacher bestowed praise upon me and presented me with a certificate of merit for the piece I had written. From what I remember, it was only two or three short sentences and pertained to God’s love but I guess they couldn’t believe someone my age could convey such thoughts.

I was excited that I had received the award, but I was more amazed at their reactions to what I had written. I had moved them and that’s when I knew I loved writing. That was my aha moment.

Don’t forget to check out Stephen‘s, Carolyn‘s, Mark‘s and Elise‘s blogs to find others participating in the blogfest. It’s a great way to meet other bloggers!

Categories: ~Random Madness~ | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 28 Comments

Post navigation

28 thoughts on “Please Allow Me To Re-Introduce Myself

  1. That’s so sweet. ::D

  2. Thanks for sharing your story with us! Its great to have those aha moments early in life. Thanks for participating in the Re-Introduce Myself Blogfest!

  3. My first aha moment was in grade school, too, but I was much older. I was in the fifth of sixth grade. It is so important to have people in your life encourage you to express yourself when you’re young. In both our cases, it inspired a life-long love of writing.

  4. What a wonderful way to start writing! I hope you have many more aha events. Nice to meet you!

  5. I had something similar happen to me in second grade, but it was for a fire safety poster I drew. Ahhh, those were the days.

  6. I love your intro, and I can imagine your fear. Today is my girls first day of school, so hopefully no principals for them. I joined the blogfest too.

  7. What a cool experience. I would have been terrified of the principal too.

  8. Great to meet you Melissa!
    What a cute aha! moment…and at such an early stage… 🙂
    http://writer-in-transit.co.za/re-introduce/

  9. awww sweet! But I would’ve been terrified too. 😀

    Nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com

  10. Reggie

    From the mouths of babes……….

  11. scary turns awesome! love it…and great subject to write about so young. newest follower, hi!!

  12. Hi, Melissa,
    I guess that inspiration stayed with you.

  13. Ah, excellent story. Hmmm, if I had to pinpoint my moment, it was probably shortly after I’d learned how to write Braille. I still had a lot of sight when they began teaching me, and it was more than a little irritating to have to decipher this code of dots on paper. When I mastered the code, however, I wrote a short ghost story. It was corny, and I couldn’t really tell you what it was about now. Still, I think that from that moment forward I began looking for reasons to write. Where has my energy for fiction writing gone in my early 30s? Great post. Now to read up on this Blog Fest business!

  14. I love that you had your a-ha writing moment at such a young age. I’m late getting around for the Blogfest, but I’m enjoying meeting new people.

    My Re-Introduce Myself Link

Please Leave a Piece of Your Mind...I Dare You!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

