Blog Gone Wrong


Why do you blog? Hmm…I’m sure you’ve asked yourself that on more than one occasion. The question probably pops up when you’re trying to figure out something to post about or after you’ve posted something and gotten no feedback. No feedback can lead to some soul-searching about blogging.

I started a blog because a friend told me that all aspiring writers should have one. So, I jumped on that bandwagon so fast that sugar plum fairies were dancing in my head. No one could tell me that it wasn’t going to be an exciting journey. Uh-uh. I was sadly mistaken and I learned quickly that maintaining a blog was kind of hard. Or was it?

I think I initially made the mistake that I had to write about writing because that is what everybody else was doing. And let’s face it, there are tons of blogs out there that do it and do it well. I even had the nerve to start a second blog that was just about “non-writing” things thinking that would keep the fire going for my writing blog. But I felt like I was killing myself trying to keep up with The Joneses and I started to lose interest. I posted less frequently until it probably looked as if I abandoned my blogs altogether.

Pic courtesy of www.voxuspr.com

Pic courtesy of http://www.voxuspr.com

After taking a long deep breath many months ago, I decided that I would take a different approach to my blog. I merged both my blogs into what you see now. I was determined my future would not include maintaining two blogs. I don’t understand how I thought that was ever a good idea in the first place. The next thing that I promised myself was that I would write about anything. If I felt like posting a poem, I would do it. If I wanted to rant about something, I would do that too. If I felt the urge to post about something personal, I would write it and press the post button. If something about writing hit my fancy, that would make an appearance as well.

There aren’t any rules to this thing and I’m sort of mad at myself for initially thinking that there were some. Now I feel so much more relaxed when writing and sharing a post and I don’t feel pressured to get something out every other day. I really commend the people who can pound out those posts. It gives me more to read and soak up. But that’s not me. I post at my own pace.

I guess you have to mess up before you figure out what works best for you. At least now, I actually like posting and I appreciate my own patchwork of a blog.

Why did you start your blog? Have you kept your initial formula or have you taken an alternate route? Do you feel the need for a regimen?

Categories: Uncategorized, ~Me, On Writing and What Not~ | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 28 Comments

Post navigation

28 thoughts on “Blog Gone Wrong

  1. Oh Melissa, my kindred-spirit sister, I am laughing as I read this. Guess what I did this year? Yup, started another blog. I really feel like writing about writing is a dime-a-dozen and is very limited in its scope of platform. After all, our audience is primarily other writers also trying to build their platform. I’m hoping my other blog will be a place to write about different subjects and practice a little creative non-fiction efforts. I might end up with the same conclusion as you and combing the two.

  2. Funny post!
    Just write – the blog will develop it’s own style and personality

  3. Sigh. You have no idea how long I’ve been blogging and how pitiful I’ve been at maintaining my blog. Mindful Banter has had many revivals in which I’m committed and follow a schedule, but these often go as quickly as they came. πŸ™‚ And like Julie, I’m starting another blog this year (today, in fact) under my pen name.

    Like you, Melissa, I don’t want to make this new blog another blog about writing, instead it will be a blog about my life as a writer, with more of a diary feel.

    In terms of managing both blogs: I am only committing myself to one post a week at ReeseRyan.com. I’d like to do the same at Mindful Banter, but I am inviting other writers to guest post to fill in a couple more days per week.

    • Roxanne, like I mentioned to Julie, you may be better at juggling both. I think guest posts are exciting and good way to add depth to your blog. I’ll definitely be checking out your other site!

  4. I felt the same as you. I started my blog before getting published and didn’t feel as if I could give good writing advice. Even now I don’t give advice. I write about the topics that interest me the most. Some random, some writing related and I interview others who I find interesting. Just go with what works for you πŸ™‚

  5. I was lucky, Melissa, I learned early on I didn’t want to blog about writing. Initially, that’s what I was going to do, but I got bored with writing topics after the first few posts and ditched that whole concept with a quickness. Not only did I not have any writing advice to give, but also as you said, so many others were doing it that there was no need for me to join the bandwagon.

    I’m glad you’ve found the blogging stride that works best for you. So go right ahead and “do you.”

  6. Hi Melissa,
    Loved this post! The Notebook Blogairy is my 3rd attempt at blogging. My first one had no idea what it was and what it was about. The second one was real-world work related and BORED me to tears. So, it took me over 8 months to figure that my 3rd blog should be something that I enjoyed and would not get bored of — writing and the writing life. It only took me about a year and a half to figure out what you ladies have — your blog is as personal as your fingerprint. It is who you are and can be as frequent or as infrequent as it and your life demands. My latest blog is about 9 months old and I’ve had over 4200 views and have 53 posts. I enjoy blogging now and don’t feel pressure at all. I post life vignettes, rants (reading bytes), book reviews, author interviews, and stuff that interests me in the world.

    The Notebook Blogairy has evolved along with my evolution as a writer.

  7. My blog began as a uni exercise on teaching English. I loved blogging so much, I kept going. I did have a few as well, then merged them into one blog that I keep about… writing πŸ™‚

    It doesn’t matter what you blog about, people who share your interest will find you!

  8. I struggle with this issue also. My blog does have a main message but I did not want to feel tied down to one thing so it has morphed into a “whatever” blog and that bugs me too. Hmm. Not sure what to do about that.
    I HAVE seen the the BIGGIES all pretty much stick to one topic exclusively, writing, mom-life or ranting about celebrities.
    We are all learning as we go I guess.

  9. Melissa, you’ve read my blog – how often do I talk about writing?
    You have to find your groove, what excites YOU. Because if it’s a topic that excites you, that will come through in your post, and readers will be excited when they read it.
    That is why I focus on movies, music, geek stuff, and my fellow bloggers – that is my passion.

  10. I started my first blog about being a mom. i had no idea what a blog was and thought it was a good place to start. I post there once a week for mostly friends and random people. My current blog though is for writing. I started it because i was learning so much and i partially didn’t want to forget some of my own lessons, but also why not share with others. it has changed a little to where I only blog about writing tips once a week. Once a week i do something random and finally I look for other authors to see what they do to make me feel less like dork. I enjoy my blog otherwise I wouldn’t bother. You don’t have to blog to be an author. I know a few who don’t.

  11. Yep, I started blogging for the same reasons. I started with a devotional blog which was quite popular, then someone said I had to blog toward something that was more relevant to my writing. I had no clue so I started a blog about writing (that thing everyone now says you shouldn’t do). Oh well, lol.

  12. Good call! One blog is hard enough to handle, and two is just plain tough. I started out thinking the same way–that I’d only post about writing but I find that there’s just so many things to write about and it doesn’t hurt to mix it up. πŸ™‚

    Nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com

  13. There you go making me read another post that says maintaining multiple blogs is crazy. I’m with you though. I want to maintain a business blog, a young adult blog, and a blog that talks about how I maintain those blogs and other miscellaneous topics. When the heck am I supposed to focus on my book writing though? Yeah, I come up with a whole lot of nothing. I’m going to have to find a better way to tackle all this, and I’m glad you reminded me on my own blog about scheduling things in advance. I may be able to keep things juggling if I write posts during the first week of the month and spend the rest of the month book writing and socializing with good bloggers I’ve discovered.

Please Leave a Piece of Your Mind...I Dare You!

Blog at WordPress.com.

