I Bid You A Most Anxious Adieu


I could write a post about how horrible 2012 has been to me and my immediate family. Oh the stuff I could tell you about how our lives have been riding on a Friday-the-13th-like-existence since February straight through to the now impending fiscal cliff. Yeah, it’s been that bad. From a loss of one kind to another loss of a different kind to yet another loss and all the mental anguish to go with it, our family has been through it.

And even as I write this, not knowing what the future holds, I’m trying to look on the bright side. I know it seems impossible but the next year has to be better than this one, doesn’t it? There is no way we could survive another year-long downward spiral. There has to be an upside to all of this.

And yet, every day I’ll read a story of someone else’s turmoil and tragedy and wonder “How I can whine and cry about my own family’s-setbacks”?

The senseless murder of Travon Martin. The abduction and murder of 10-year-old Jessica Ridgeway as she walked to school. Super Storm Sandy’s horrific devastation, causing some to lose their lives and leaving thousands homeless. The taking of so many innocent lives in Aurora, Colorado and Newtown, Connecticut. The ridiculous shooting ambush of upstate New York firefighters as they were called to duty. The inexcusable sexual assault and beating death of a young Indian woman. The incomprehensible killing of 10-year-old Jade Morris by a family acquaintance who used a shopping tripping as a guise to lure her to her death.

I can’t imagine what any of the families involved in these tragedies feel and my problems seem small and insignificant compared to them.

Pic courtesy of thenextweb.com

Pic courtesy of thenextweb.com

So on this New Year’s Eve, instead of dwelling on my family’s tale of woe, I will be giving 2012 a swift kick in the arse and bidding it a most eager farewell. I’ll probably even have a little champagne toast and do a happy-dance as 2013 rolls in! Because at the end of the day, my family and I still have each other and who better to carry you from the dark into the light? And as long as our problems our solvable, there is a light.

Happy New Year!!

Categories: ~Random Madness~ | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “I Bid You A Most Anxious Adieu

  1. I am so sorry this year has been so painful for you and your family. Loss of any kind takes its toll on our hearts, minds and faith. May 2013 be a year of rebuilding and steps of light for you and the ones you love.

  2. Happy New Year to you, too, Melissa. 2012 has been an interesting journey for me and though I’ve grown and learned a lot during the past year, I too am glad to see it go. I’m anxious to see what God has in store for me in 2013.

    I’m sure you’ll see an upswing from your 2012 downward spiral. Like you said, there’s got to be an upside. It’s impossible to have one without the other.

  3. Happy New Year to you, Melissa. Though it sounds like 2012 was very unkind to you, I love your positive outlook regarding what matters most–your family–and your expectations for the year ahead. A big hug to you. Here’s hoping for the very best for 2013.

    • Thank you and Happy New Year to you as well! It’s so easy to go down a path of negativity but I have vowed that things will only go up!

      Also, I’m sorry it took so long to reply to your comment but for some reason it went to my spam box and I just noticed it. WordPress is a little persnickety sometimes. LOL! Take care!

  4. Wishing you a far, far better year this year than last year.
    Blessings to you, Melissa

  5. Hey lady. I’m so sad to hear about your 2012, it sounds alot like my 2011/2012. But I’m also glad to see that you’re recognize the silver lining for you and yours. I wish you a better year, moving int 2013 and that you’re blessed with an enlarged territory. That your heart and mind is guarded from the enemy and that your keep standing. Sometimes that’s all that you have to do! All the best. Kandie (@kankan929 twitter)

Please Leave a Piece of Your Mind...I Dare You!

Blog at WordPress.com.

