Besides, I Know You’re Santa Claus Anyways


“Besides, I know you’re Santa Claus anyways.” I froze, my heart dropped and knots wreaked havoc on my stomach as those words fell from my son’s lips. O.M.G. The holiday moment I had most feared had finally come true.

My husband and I had been discussing my son’s possible waning belief in Old St. Nick since he was rounding the corner to the age of ten. According to my husband, he already knew at that age how the stockings got stuffed and where the gifts magically appeared from. He insisted it was just a matter of time before my baby boy no longer lit up when mentioning the jolly old guy in the red suit.

Santa ClausNo more Wish Lists to Santa. No more threats of the Naughty List to keep my son in line. No more using the “special” wrapping paper that only Santa uses. *Sigh*

So, here it was. The dreaded moment. Once those words were spoken I did what any good mommy would do. I let the crickets chirp and ignored my son’s declaration while my hubby gave me the I-told-you-so look. Besides, I had an eight-year-old daughter’s belief at stake here too. It’s like the domino effect. When one stops believing, you can bet your bottom dollar the other one is going to stop believing too once the other one tells. Believe me, I know because my older cousin stomped on my dreams burst my bubble around the age of eight.

Of course, my husband couldn’t let well enough alone. A few days after “the incident”, he had the bright idea of asking baby boy what he exactly meant when he uttered those words. My son said that one of his friends told him there was no such thing as Santa but he knew that there just had to be. Where else did all the stuff come from on Christmas Day? Ah ha!

I was literally dancing in my seat when hubby broke the news to me. He still believed! He still believed! At least he said that he did. We were safe for another year. The sad thing is, I think I was more excited that my husband and I still get to pretend to be Santa Claus than my son actually believing in him. I guess it’s not always about the kids, is it? πŸ˜‰

Happy Holidays!

Categories: ~La Familia~ | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Besides, I Know You’re Santa Claus Anyways

  1. It’s such a bitter-sweet time when they stop believing in Santa, and start understanding the concept of parents going to all this work to keep it secret and buy them special prizes! Merry Christmas to you.

    PS So I was following your blog, but not receiving updates, for some reason. I just went in and changed that doggonit! Now I’ll bug you in comments. πŸ™‚

  2. Oh the dreaded torture of when they stop believing in Santa. I went into mourning when my oldest son (14) stopped believing a few years ago. It really broke my heart. And even though my youngest son (10) says he still believes, I can see the tell-tale signs that this is his final year.

    Like you, I thought my oldest one would tell and spoil it for the younger one, but he never did (especially since I told him not to). I think it’s so adorable he doesn’t want to spoil it for his younger brother. But by this time next year, I’m sure there will be no more believers in my house. Sad.

    As kids, I love how their innocence light up on Christmas day, and I feel destroyed inside when that light dims and fades away. I can relate completely to this post, Melissa.

    Merry Christmas.

    • Demetria, I know this has to be my son’s last year too. It’s the saddest thing but I know it’s inevitable. Then I’ll only have my daughter left. She’ll be nine by the time next Christmas rolls around. So I’m not sure if she’ll even make it.

  3. Aww! I do think it’s probably more heartbreaking for the parents, what with all you go through to give them the Santa experience. Glad to hear he still believes this year! Hope you and your family had a nice Christmas. πŸ™‚

  4. I remember pretending to believe for a few years because I could see how much enjoyment my parents got out of the whole santa thing. And then it all just became a fun tradition.

    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas.

Please Leave a Piece of Your Mind...I Dare You!

Blog at WordPress.com.

