The Next Big Thing


Demetria Foster Gray over at Shaken But Not Stirred has tagged me for The Next Big Thing blog hop in which you answer a set of questions about your WIP presumably with the thought it may be “The Next Big Thing”. I was honored that she thought enough to include me.

My WIP and I have been having a rough time lately, so I took a very long sigh before tackling the questions. So here goes

1. What is the working title of your book?

Ok, I really don’t have a working title yet. I usually don’t attempt a title until I’ve finished the first draft of whatever I’m working on.

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

I’ve always been intrigued by love triangles. How do they happen? Can you really love more than one person at the same time? And what happens when those relationships falter?

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Contemporary Romance

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

For the female MC, Cree St. John, I would say Kat Graham would best represent her. No male actors come to mind for my two male MCs but I did find two models who embody what I envision them to look like. The male lead, Gabriel Rawlings, looks similar to model, Keston Karter. Male model, Moneon Warren, would be a sexy fit to play the other male MC, Dazz Henderson.

Kat Graham

Kat Graham

Keston Kartet

Keston Karter

Moneon Warren

Moneon Warren

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Cree St. John, while trying to salvage the remnants of her singing career and her strained relationship with Dazz Henderson, unwittingly falls in love with Dazz’s best friend.

6. If you plan to publish, will you self-publish traditionally?

Right now I’m keeping my options open.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Since I haven’t finished the first draft yet, I’m not sure how long my process takes yet but I know that it’s a slow one. LOL!

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I love Eric Jerome Dickey. His books are always sexy and full of drama.

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?

I don’t think anything or anyone inspired me but I do love a sexy story about relationships.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

People tend to have a biased view of themselves and sometimes it takes the people around them to show them the good, the bad and the ugly.

Well, that wasn’t so hard! Now I have to tag a few writers to answer the same questions about their current writing project.

J W Hankins over at Scribereglyph

Ghenet Myrthil at All About Them Words

Synithia Williams at www.synithiawilliams.com

Thanks again, Demetria, for picking me to participate.

Categories: Uncategorized, ~Me, On Writing and What Not~ | Tags: , , , , | 18 Comments

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. Melissa, I can totally sympathize with your comments here: ‘My WIP and I have been having a rough time lately, so I took a very long sigh before tackling the questions.” It’s like that sometimes.

    I love the premise of your story and the concept of the characters being shown the truth about themselves through their interaction with others. Look forward to reading your story.

    I’ve been through that middle-of-the-novel slump more times than I’d care to admit. But it sounds like you’ve got a great story here. Keep on writing!

  2. Thanks for tagging me! Good luck with the rest of your first draft. I find love triangles interesting too. 🙂

  3. Interesting to learn more about your project. Nice to meet you!

  4. Thanks for commenting on my blog today. Your story sounds great! So hurry and finish, LOL 🙂

  5. Thanks for the tag. I’ll see what I can muster up for ya, lol!

  6. Melissa, I’ve been curious about your fiction project so I’m glad to learn more about it. Thank you for sharing it.

    I, too, like “love” triangles. And if your talent as a writer is any indication, I’m sure your WIP will be a great read, even though it may be “whipping” your butt right now. Mine whips my butt often, so I understand the love/hate relationship we have with our WIPs. I think it goes with the territory.

    Thank you so much for participating, I enjoyed the behind-the-scenes look.

    • Demetria, thanks for tagging me!

      Yes, sometimes I want to throw my manuscript in a corner somewhere. I guess we have to have those love-hate relationships with our work to help us become better writers.

  7. If you don’t have a title yet, don’t feel bad. The title is the LAST thing for me. And for my second book, it was my publisher who gave it a title. Sad, huh?

  8. Cree St John is an awesome name for a main character. Good luck with finding the right title (I’m terrible at titles hehehe)

  9. Oh this sounds like just the kind of book I would read with a glass of wine and a nice, long bubble soak! And good choice on Keston– he’s very easy on the eyes. OK, yeah, I suppose a good actor too…

    I can so relate to “my WIP and I have been having a rough time lately”. Yes ma’am. I get that.

Please Leave a Piece of Your Mind...I Dare You!

Blog at WordPress.com.

