Psst…I’m Still Here


I have been really neglectful of my bog these last few weeks and I didn’t want you guys to think that I have abandoned my ship, so to speak. I knew as the holidays approached, my mind would lose a little focus. Hey, with a family like mine, you would lose focus too.

One of my favorite quotes!

I’ve actually been doing a lot of reading, which is a good thing. Writing…not so much. I’ve worked on my WIP a little, with promises each day to myself to devote more time to my baby. I guess after the day officially goes from twenty-four to thirty-four hours, I will be able to do just that. LOL! I’ve always done my best writing at night but as I’ve gotten older, I can’t stay up as late as I used to. I could survive off of four hours of sleep but not these days. If I start getting close to the 2 a.m. mark and have to be up at 6 a.m., I wake up as if I’ve been drinking all night. So, yeah, night writing is low on the totem pole.

One thing I have been ignoring my WIP for devoting a little time to is a short story idea. I’m hoping that I can finish the first draft, get it edited and hopefully entered into a contest by January. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

Well, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. Until my next post…

Do you find the holidays to be a distraction to your writing or other goals? If not, what advice do you have to share about sticking to your guns and getting the job done?

Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

Categories: Uncategorized, ~Me, On Writing and What Not~, ~Random Madness~ | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Psst…I’m Still Here

  1. I really don’t find holidays distracting. I can write like how most people watch TV. I’m always working on something. If I’m not doing something really important, I’m writing or developing something in my mind. So, when I’m driving to and from work, on breaks at work, while I’m cleaning up the house waiting for my wife to get home, while im watching a tv show, etc, whatever, you have to steal your minutes throughout the day, nobody is goin to give them to you, especially if you have children, lol!

    • Hey, Jamal! Long time, no see. LOL! That’s great that you can push through no matter what. I actually have ideas in my head but sometimes have a hard time finding the “minute” to sit down and put them to paper. Remember I have kids too!

      It’s funny, but after I wrote this post last night, I actually worked on my WIP for awhile, Maybe I just needed a kickstart?

      Nice hearing from you. šŸ™‚

      • Yeah, you too, lol! Lucky for me, my 2yo is not an attention monger, lol. He can pretty much entertain himself, so when he doesn’t require me entertain him, ha, I have a laptop, or a notebook, or my iphone open working. Its kind of obsessive but it works for me, lol! Gotta get it done somehow!

  2. Melissa, glad to know you’re still here. I have noticed you haven’t been posting as frequently as before. But I get it. Life happens. Sometimes we all need a little blogging break.

  3. God never seems to take a rest when it comes to delivering things in my mind…it just comes every day, several times a day, and i quickly make time for the words when they come…you will be okay, as your are a very good writer…there are thoughts within your mind right now, capture them before they are lost!

Please Leave a Piece of Your Mind...I Dare You!

Blog at WordPress.com.

