Oh, By the Way, I’m A Writer


Until recently, only a handful of family and friends actually knew that I wrote…stuff.

Over the years, I’ve written little stories and poetry but not on a consistent basis. I definitely wrote more in my younger days when I had less responsibilities and an endless amount of time. I was footloose and carefree in those days, writing to my heart’s content. I even started a soap opera in junior high with three other friends, one of which was an illustrator. We actually wrote and illustrated four weekly episodes that we passed around to our friends for their reading enjoyment. Those were the days.

As I got older, I found it harder to write for lack of time and I went years without doing it even though I felt it was still in my heart. Once I got married and started having kids, I felt writing was completely out of my reach; hence, why most of my family and friends didn’t know that I even had an interest in it.

Then, in walks social networking into my life. I reconnected with a high school friend who had written and published two memoirs. His dive into the publishing world got me to

Yes, me in the 1st grade

thinking that my off-again on-again “interest” since the first grade (yes, the first grade) could actually be something more than a pastime.

And with that, I found a whole writing community via Twitter. I was shocked to find so many other people out there writing while working a day job and living their everyday lives. And I was also surprised at how many of them were publishing their wares via self-publication or e-book publication.

A friend suggested I start a blog and it was at that point that I slowly started to reveal to those who didn’t already know that I liked to make up stories write fiction. I was apprehensive at first because deep down I thought they probably would be like “Yeah, right.” But I was surprised how much support I got and how intrigued they were with my plight. I even found a co-worker who is a writer as well. She likes writing non-fiction. What a small world.

So here I am blogging away and working on what will hopefully be my first book for the world to see. Make-believe Real life will always take precedence over anything but from now on, I will always weave my writing in there somewhere. I’m just doing it a little less undercover these days.

How many of your friends and family know you’re a writer or even have a blog? Or maybe you have some other hobby or hidden talent not too many people know about? Come on, spill it.

Don’t forget to follow me on my Facebook page and Twitter.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 24 Comments

Post navigation

24 thoughts on “Oh, By the Way, I’m A Writer

  1. How many of your friends and family know you’re a writer or even have a blog?

    Only a couple of family members know that I write. So far none have seen my work (I hide it all away and won’t reveal my blog url).

    I feel fine having strangers read my work, but having family/friends read it (even though they are often more supportive of you), feels awkward.

  2. Telling people I was a writer was as hard as actually writing. You do get the “yeah right, everyone is a writer” look, but if you’re serious, and make time for it, then forget their looks. Keep at it. Two years ago I was trying to finish a book and now I’m published. Who would have thought? Not me three years ago 🙂

  3. I don’t mind telling people that I write. But I usually don’t offer more than that unless they ask, because you never know when they’re just being polite or when they’re showing genuine interest.

  4. Until my first book came out, few people outside of my blogger buddies knew. Few people in the real world even know about my blog. And like Synithia, I had no idea any of it was going to happen.

    • I’m not sure where this whole thing is going but I’m hoping for a favorable outcome aka publication. As far as the “real” world, I don’t know if I want everybody in my “real” life to read my work. They probably wouldn’t understand it or it wouldn’t appeal to them anyway. Those are the ones I don’t even tell about my writing. They don’t even know I’m married and have kids. Just kidding. 🙂

  5. I can so relate to this post, Melissa. Needless to say I’ve never really told my family I have a website or blog. The only family that knows are my husband and kids. All other family (sisters, brothers, aunts, cousins, etc.) have no clue, or found out accidentally.

    I come from a family that has a very limiting viewpoint and likes to keep you in a box. I have a broader mentality of what’s possible in life which sometimes conflict with theirs. So instead of being limited by their opinions or approvals, I tend to bypass their input and stand firm in my own beliefs.

    My extended family only knows I’m a professional writer by trade (corporate/technical writing). They know not of my personal pursuits of becoming a fiction author. My husband, friends and writing community are the ones in the “know.” They are the ones who’re very supportive and keeps me grounded.

    By the way, that 1st grade picture is soooooooooo cute!!! Simply adorable.

    • Demetria, as I just mentioned in my reply to Alex, I don’t think half my family and friends would be interested in what I write. Those are the ones I choose to keep in the dark. No need wasting my time. Luckily, my mom has been one of my biggest supporters along with my hubby.

      Thanks in reference to the picture!

  6. All my family know I’m a writer and most of my friends, though for a long while I kept it hidden because I didn’t want to answer all the questions that would inevitably follow eg can I be in one of your books? lol.

  7. Reggie

    Keep writing, you are an excellent writer.

  8. Melissa, I just want to inform you I’ve selected you for the Liebster Blog Award. It’s a peer recognition award for favorite blogs. Swing over to my blog to get more information and pick up the Liebster Award badge to post on your site.

    I think you’re very talented and I’m glad we’ve joined each other’s blogging community.

    • Melissa Kinnel (@TizMellyMel)

      Wow! Thanks, Demetria! I’m really honored and speechless. I will definitely head over to your blog and see what it’s all about. Thanks again! Yay!

  9. Melissa, I know many people who write but do not think what they’re writing is worthy of printing or releasing to the public.

    I’ve always wanted to become a writer, but I had no idea how I would have made that dream possible until I took a writing course. The rest is history as many people say.

    I was supposed to write for myself, not for the world.

  10. Oh, for somet reason I thought I already commented here. Oh well. Maybe I’m losing my mind… It’s possible 😉

    Anyway, most of my friends and family know now I’m a writer, but I kept it quiet for a long time hehehe

  11. I thought I might not share about my writing, but I wound up not hiding it for very long. It’s a huge part of who I am.

  12. Love that you’ve found your way back to writing. Real life does take over sometimes, but the writing will always be waiting for you.

Please Leave a Piece of Your Mind...I Dare You!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

