Reading Is The New Sexy


I’m an avid reader and even though eBooks seem to be taking over the world, I still stop in the local Barnes and Noble to see what’s shaking. Oh, don’t get me wrong, I read eBooks too but it’s something about walking into a wall-to-wall store full of books. Shivers run up and down my spine. My heartbeat starts to race a bit. My palms get a little sweaty. It’s like being a kid in a candy store with my face practically smashed up against the storefront window.

I usually peruse the clearance section first, easily finding some good buys there in hardback and paperback. Then I head to the middle “what’s new” aisle where the latest and greatest is displayed. And finally I end my visit in the magazine section which happens to be located right next to the coffee shop. Ahh, it just makes for exciting fun.

Ok, I know what you’re thinking. I’m a nerd. And you may just be right. I don’t hide my love for reading just because the “cool” people may think it’s…well, boring.

I mean, how can you think something is boring when that something can teleport you into murder and mayhem, romance, intrigue, fantasy, adventure, happiness, joy, sadness and dismay. I mean, how can that be boring?

Well, the cool people can keep thinking that reading is boring but I know for a fact that it’s not. It’s the new sexy. Yep, you heard me. Reading is sexy. How do I? Well, as I walked out of the B&N, a bumper stick on the back of a car in the parking lot sort of confirmed it for me.

Categories: ~Random Madness~ | Tags: , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Reading Is The New Sexy

  1. Nothing beats going to a bookstore and seeing all these books laid out in front of you. And the bumper sticker is on the mark – reading is indeed sexy.

  2. Reading is sexy! I too love going into a bookstore or the library. Despite the ease of ebook, the atmosphere of a bookstore is irreplaceable.

  3. Going into a book store and seeing a book you wrote is pretty cool, too. Actually, it beats the hell out of being cool. Carrying a cool book with a cool picture’s pretty dam cool, too. I’d say your sticker’s about right; there’s nothing cool about acting cool.

  4. Reggie

    Melissa I’m an avid reader also and I absolutely love Barnes and Noble. I’ve read hundreds of books and I have bookcases filled with books now. Now I have sold dozens to second hand stores over the years, but I usually keep the hardback books.

    Even though I now have a Nook, I still go in the store and sometimes I’ll take my Nook with me. When I see a book that I want, I merely stop right there and download it into my Nook. I’ve done that many many times.

    I start in the front too, where the recently released books are and then I move on to the Fiction and Literature section.

    Oh and sometimes I will stop by the cafe for a hot chocolate first, just to have something to sip on as I peruse the book shelves.

    If I do see something in the clearance area that isn’t downloadable, then I will buy it.

    • I like having an e-reader because it’s a gadget and the fact it cuts down on clutter but I guess I’m still old school and like the feel of a good book. I just hope we don’t become so digitized that they stop making tangible books altogether.

      Having Starbucks in B&N is a sin. LOL! They know a lot of people gotta have their coffee or hot chocolate. 🙂

  5. If the lust of bookstores and love of reading makes you nerdy then nerds we shall be. I feel at home when I’m in a bookstore. And when people, places, or things make me feel at home—peaceful, excited, loved—that’s always sexy to me.

    So yes, Melissa, I heard you…………..Reading is Sexy!!!

  6. I love walking from the library with a bag full of books and I love holding each book in my hand as I read.

Please Leave a Piece of Your Mind...I Dare You!

Blog at WordPress.com.

