And The Tweets Just Keep On Coming…And Coming


*With my right hand raised* Hi, my name is Melissa, and I’m…umm…addicted to social networking.

I tweet. No, not like a bird, but like on Twitter. Before I go any further, let me start from the beginning.

It all began on a long winter’s night while I was chopping wood for the fireplace in our cabin out in the woods…oops, wrong story! But it sounded good, didn’t it?! LOL!

It all began several years ago when a girlfriend joined FaceBook and talked me into it. I mean, she really had to talk me into it. I had pretty much bagged FaceBook for the “younger” crowd and I had no need to participate whatsoever. Of course, she convinced me that it was for people our age too and it would be fun. So, like a fool, I gave in.

Then, she forced me to join MySpace too. Yeah, I used the word forced. There were these fierce battles for my attention between FB and MS, but FaceBook finally won the war. MySpace fought a good fight, but it just wasn’t strong enough.

So there I was, content with FB, minding my own business, updating my status, playing my apps and sharing photos with my friends and family. I wasn’t bothering or hurting anybody. Just doing what so many others do day after day, night after night.

Then it happened. I found out my FAVORITE singer tweeted on Twitter. O-M-Gee! Dare I join? I gasped at the thought of joining yet another social network. Remembering the battles I had in choosing between FB and MySpace made me take pause. I surely didn’t want to give up FaceBook. All my family and friends were on there. Even the one chick from high school who hated my guts but had the nerve to friend request me was ON there. How could I possibly give all that up? I just wouldn’t do it!

So I went about my daily FB routine, but Twitter kept nagging and nagging at me. “Come tweet with us. Tweet, tweet,” it kept saying. Umm, it really didn’t say that, but, hey, I have to keep this post lively!

Well, the next thing I knew, I was on that website signing up like I was going to win an IPad or something! Then…reality struck! Once on there, I had no clue what the hell I was doing. What were followers? Better yet, how was I suppose to get them? What is a retweet? What are trending topics and hashtags?  After my anxiety attack and second guessing why I even signed up for the crap (that’s what I called it at the time), I asked one of my friends who is a tweep (this is TwitterSpeak for a person on Twitter who tweets, get it?) and she gave me the 101 rundown of what was what. Before long, I was a tweeting fool! I still AM a tweeting fool.

Twitter doesn’t have apps like FB. It’s just a bunch of people—some famous, some not—who talk about random stuff. That is it. Some people have like interests and tweet to each about those things. Some people network with others. Some just tweet about their day.

Now, you’re probably wondering if I gave up FaceBook? Heck no! I have found a way to let FB and Twitter share me. I know what you’re thinking. How do they share me? *With a crazy look in my eyes* Well, it is possible! They do a pretty

CRAZY EYES

good job too! I mean, they are so different. Why would I give up one for the other? And I can do both on my phone…taking it everywhere I go!

Now, I want you to take a walk back to the very first sentence in my post. Go on! I’m waiting…*tapping my foot impatiently on the floor*

Well? Did you read it? *snickering* What?! I told you that I was an addict! You didn’t believe me?

Categories: ~Random Madness~ | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “And The Tweets Just Keep On Coming…And Coming

  1. Tweet!

    This made me twitter. : )

  2. I’ve been curious about Twitter. It sounds so cute. Tweet! Tweet! Thanks for sharing.

  3. I’m on both, mainly twitter though. I actually have better conversations with the people I don’t really know on Twitter than the ones I actually know on Facebook, lol. Go figure.

  4. I’m hugely anti-FB but am starting to be lured by Twitter. I have been converted yet but I’m getting there. I can’t figure out how to get followers though and I don’t want to be the loser on Twitter with no one following me. My ego can’t take it.

    • At first I had no followers either. Then I started using the hashtags (#) and searching tweets with them. That’s how I linked up to other writers, bloggers, etc. Great hashtags are #writing, #amwriting, #blogging, #blog. Once you find other tweeters who use those, you start following and usually they follow you back. You can even do a search on a keyword without the #, and it will bring up tweets…great keywords are motherhood, parenting, etc. Good luck!

  5. I have no idea what a hashtag is but I’m assuming if I ever buckle and join Twitter the clouds will part and it will all become clear. I know who I’ll ask though if I get lost in the Twitterverse.

Please Leave a Piece of Your Mind...I Dare You!

Blog at WordPress.com.

