Uh…I Don’t Think So!


So there my husband and I were enjoying the ambiance on a Friday night.  They were playing pretty decent music and we were just happy to get out and enjoy ourselves.

Then reality struck.  We were actually at my seven-year-old son’s elementary school Spring Dance.  The bewitching hour was from 6pm to 7pm for kindergartners, first-graders and second-graders. Admittance for each student was $1 while parents were free.

The cafeteria’s usual set-up had been transformed into a hodge-podge of chairs pushed against walls for anyone who wanted to sit, leaving a wide open “circle” for the little ones to get their groove on.  There was a deejay and a table where drinks and snacks were being sold.

Watching the kids dance, I must say, was pretty hilarious.  A lot of them were in their own little world twisting their bodies in all different directions. Some were walking around watching others dance and then eventually trying to emulate the steps themselves. Others were on the floor attempting breakdancing moves.  My son was in this group. Part of me was proud he was out there undertaking skills I would have never ever tried myself. The other part was freaking me out because his bare skin was touching the dirty floor and all I could think about were the germs. Oh, yes, the mother side of me never stops.  No matter how hard I try, I can’t suppress the worrywart syndrome.

At least everyone was having a good time.  Camera flashes were going nonstop and camcorders were trying to capture every moment.  I smelled future blackmail photos!  Every teenager’s nightmare!

The hour seemed to chug along when it happened.  Out of nowhere, the deejay played The Incy Wincy Spider.  He went from preteen dance music to a nursery rhyme…in song form, at that! It was as if the whole world stopped.

Well, I don’t know how much five-, six-, seven- and eight-year-olds know about the freedom of speech and the right to assemble, but they demonstrated those rights the very moment that deejay meddled with their groove session.

I watched in awe as they began chanting “no” and pointing their thumbs downward in protest of the current song selection.  Some even gathered over at the deejay table to make their opinion very clear to the man himself.  A few seconds later, he changed the track back to a more dance-friendly song.  I wonder what made him change his mind?

Finally the dance was over and all went back to normal, but all I could think about were those little tykes demanding that their voices be heard. Sure they were just kids, but they knew what they wanted…and The Incy Wincy Spider wasn’t it.

To some random person it may have looked like chaos…things gone awry or maybe even a new dance craze being born.  But I knew better.  I saw our future leaders…

Categories: ~La Familia~ | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Uh…I Don’t Think So!

  1. Thanks for taking us with you. Dance is back for boys and girls. Great brains and healthy bodies are on the way. Please comment on Grandpa’s Guide to Dancing with Children at http://www.movineasy.com/blog see link to Kids Dancing. Look forward to hearing more.

    • Thanks for commenting. I’m still trying to figure out the “trackback” and “pingback” thing…so hopefully I did it correctly! :=)

  2. This sounds so cute! I remember when my school did something like this, except it was a sleep over. It was seriously crazy. What is more crazy is the fact that I remember something from almost 20 years ago. Ouch! I feel old now.

    • Wow! A sleepover at school? I’m pretty “old” too and we never did anything like that! I’m sure that was interesting…AND crazy!

  3. So sweet!

    And so funny that the DJ had to follow their lead ~ NO, NO, WE WON’T GO! : )

Please Leave a Piece of Your Mind...I Dare You!

Blog at WordPress.com.

