“Let’s Go Crazy…Let’s Get Nuts!”**


Well, I finally did it.  I finally broke the curse.  You know the one.  The one where you can’t wear the color white, shorts, short sleeves, tank tops, flip flops, sandals or any other summer apparel after Labor Day and before Memorial Day weekend.  Let me rephrase that.  You can’t wear those things during that time period if you were raised old school.

Yes, the good ole old school upbringing.  That ideology brainwashed me into believing all sorts of things and one of them was dictating what I wore during certain seasons.  It was considered sacrilege to even think about wearing summer attire any other time of the year.

Well, this weekend I broke the chains.  It’s the middle of March and the DC Metro area has been trending 70° weather the last several days.  I knew I had to break free.  Years past, I would have kept my hot a## clothes on and suffered through the uncomfortable mugginess they provided.

But no more!  I broke out of the mind jail and put my foot down.  I went to that trunk in my closet where I keep my off-season wardrobe and pulled out a pair of Capri pants and a short-sleeved t-shirt.  After donning my shield of rebellion, I knew that it wouldn’t be complete without a pair of flip flops.  Oh, yesssss!  Thank goodness I had given myself a pedicure the week before.  All systems ago!

I know what you’re thinking.  People wear out of season clothes all of the time.  You’re right.  They do.  But those people probably weren’t raised old school, now were they?  There is something said about kicking caution to the wind!  It felt good.  If felt invigorating.

So I’m riding high on my dissent into freedom.  My next move?  Who knows.  Maybe I’ll wear socks with my flip flops in July.  Now that really would be stepping on the wild side, now wouldn’t it?

** Let’s Go Crazy ~ Prince 1984

Categories: The Funnies, ~Random Madness~ | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on ““Let’s Go Crazy…Let’s Get Nuts!”**

  1. THAT road photograph up top -where is that road, may I ask -I am intrigued!

Please Leave a Piece of Your Mind...I Dare You!

Blog at WordPress.com.

